A child’s first phone in Ireland: filters, spend caps and plans

Choosing a first phone for a child in Ireland means deciding who owns the account, which content is blocked and how to stop surprise charges. Irish networks differ a lot on all three. This page sets out what each network publishes, what the industry’s code of practice promises parents, and the cheapest plans that suit a child.

Last updated:

An illustrated child’s smartphone in a colourful case on a school desk beside a small backpack, crayons and a lunchbox
On this page
  1. Do Irish networks block adult content for children?
  2. What have Irish networks promised parents?
  3. What is a cheap plan for a child’s first phone?
  4. Can a child have their own mobile account in Ireland?
  5. How do you stop a child running up a phone bill?
  6. Can a child use a smartwatch with a SIM instead of a phone?

A child’s first phone at a glance

Filter on by default
Sky Mobile
Spend caps
Sky up to €100; GoMo and Clear €30
Account holder
18 or over at GoMo, Clear and Lidl Connect
Industry code
2021, five networks

Do Irish networks block adult content for children?

Some do, in different ways. Sky Mobile blocks 18+ sites by default, An Post Mobile blocks adult content for under-18s by registered date of birth, and Vodafone runs a network filter that prepay customers change in a store with ID. Three, Tesco Mobile and 48 describe filters with less detail, and the rest do not say.

“Not stated” means the network’s own pages do not say; it is not the same as “no filter”. An Post Mobile’s block depends on a date of birth on the account: if none is registered, there is no restriction. Vodafone accepts a passport, driving licence or national age card to lift its filter on prepay; Sky asks the account holder for a credit card and may take a €1 payment, credited back on the next bill.

Adult content filters and spending limits, as each network publishes them
NetworkAdult content filterSpending limit
Sky MobileOn by default; the account holder turns it off with a credit card, SIM by SIMSpend cap up to €100 per SIM
VodafoneNetwork filter; prepay changes it in a store with ID, bill pay through the bill payerNot stated
ThreeFilter available; over-18s remove it through 1913 or a messageBill pay credit limit is not a budget cap
Tesco MobileBlocks inappropriate content; under-18s may not use adult contentPrepay: no high bills; bill pay: credit limit can be set to 0
An Post MobileBlocked for under-18s by the registered date of birth; none registered means no blockNot stated
48No adult services; a filter on requestNot stated
eirNetwork filter not stated; a €1.99 a month app filter on bill payPremium text bar; €10 calls-only prepay
GoMoNot stated€30 out-of-plan limit; premium bar
Clear MobileNot stated€30 out-of-plan limit, up to €300
Virgin MobileNot stated; the account holder must switch off age-restricted services first€123 limit over the plan, then suspended
Lidl ConnectNot statedNo out-of-plan charges; premium numbers blocked
LycamobileNot statedNot stated

What have Irish networks promised parents?

Under a 2021 industry code, eir, Tesco Mobile, Three, Virgin Media and Vodafone promised to let parents access and manage a child’s account where the law allows, and to publish information on parental controls. The code does not require filters to be on by default, and it notes that EU law obliges providers to give access to all legal content.

The code defines a child as anyone under 18 still in a parent’s or guardian’s care, and points parents to the controls built into phones themselves. It is a minimum: each network may add more. In 2024 Vodafone, Three, eir, Tesco Mobile, Virgin Media and An Post Mobile said they support the Government’s “Keeping Childhood Smartphone Free” guide, which helps parents of primary school children agree among themselves to delay buying smartphones. It is a voluntary agreement between parents, not a ban on selling phones to children.

What is a cheap plan for a child’s first phone?

For calls only, eir’s €10 prepay plan gives 3,000 Irish minutes but no texts or data, and must be topped up every 14 days. Lycamobile’s National S is €10 for 28 days with 5GB. Tesco Mobile notes that prepay carries no risk of high bills.

  • Lidl Connect has one plan, €12.99 a month at the standard price, with no out-of-plan charges and premium numbers blocked. The account holder must be 18 or over and can give a child a line through multi-line.
  • GoMo and Clear Mobile need the account holder to be 18 or over; both cap out-of-plan charges at €30 a month.
  • Compare every plan by its first-year cost in the plan finder.

Can a child have their own mobile account in Ireland?

Often not: many networks require an adult account holder. GoMo, Clear Mobile and Lidl Connect require 18 or over. Lycamobile lets a parent register as an authorised person on an under-18’s account, and Tesco Mobile asks parents to register a prepay account and tell Customer Care that a minor will use it.

Three and Virgin Media put the duty on the account holder: their terms say you must switch off age-restricted services before letting anyone under 18 use the phone. The 2021 code adds that for a child under 16, a parent or guardian must consent to the processing of the child’s data.

How do you stop a child running up a phone bill?

Choose prepay, or a plan with a hard limit. Sky Mobile lets the account holder set a spend cap of up to €100 per SIM, GoMo and Clear Mobile cap out-of-plan charges at €30, and Tesco Mobile suggests setting a bill pay credit limit to 0. Three and Virgin Media say their credit limits are not budget caps.

  • Virgin Media sets a €123 limit on spending over the plan; data, premium and international use are restricted first, and the line is suspended at the full limit.
  • eir, GoMo and Lidl Connect bar premium-rate numbers or texts: eir and GoMo on request, Lidl Connect for everyone.
  • Vodafone sells Secure Net at €1.99 a month per line, but its parental controls need Secure Net Home at €2.99 a month. eir’s Mobile Security app, €1.99 a month on bill pay, filters web addresses.

Can a child use a smartwatch with a SIM instead of a phone?

Only on a bill pay plan at the two networks that describe it. Vodafone OneNumber shares the main phone’s number and allowance for €5 a month, and Three’s Smartwatch Share pairs with a Three bill pay phone and works only in Ireland. GoMo says its eSIMs do not work on smartwatches.

Both share the number of the phone they pair with, so the watch does not get a number of its own. Vodafone’s OneNumber page shows two different Apple Watch prices, “from €24” and “from €29” a month, so check the price before you order. The other networks do not describe a watch plan.

Frequently asked questions

Is there a children’s SIM plan in Ireland?

None of the 12 networks we checked sells a plan labelled for children. The closest are low-cost prepay plans, such as eir’s €10 calls-only plan, and plans with hard spending limits, such as Sky Mobile’s spend cap or Lidl Connect’s plan with no out-of-plan charges.

Have Irish networks stopped selling smartphones to children?

No. In 2024 six networks said they support the Government’s “Keeping Childhood Smartphone Free” guide, which helps parents agree to delay smartphones in primary school. It is a voluntary agreement among parents, not a ban on sales.

How do I turn off the adult filter on my own phone?

It depends on the network. Three asks over-18s to call 1913 or send a message; Vodafone prepay customers bring a passport, driving licence or age card to a store; Sky asks the account holder for credit card details.

Can parents see a child’s phone usage?

Under the 2021 code, eir, Tesco Mobile, Three, Virgin Media and Vodafone promised to let parents access and manage a child’s account where the law allows, giving visibility of usage and control over services. Ask the network how it does this.

Where these facts come from

Every fact on this page comes from one of these sources. We opened each one on the date shown.

  1. Code of practice: mobile phone usage (2021), Telecommunications Industry Ireland (Ibec), 2021-09-30 (checked 2026-10-12)
  2. Minister Foley welcomes support from major mobile phone operators for voluntary agreements to keep childhood smartphone free, Department of Education, 2024-05-22 (checked 2026-10-12)Official
  3. Parental controls on Sky Mobile, Sky (checked 2026-10-12)Official
  4. Sky Mobile spend caps (ROI), Sky Ireland (checked 2026-10-12)Official
  5. Pay as you go: phone restrictions, Vodafone Ireland (checked 2026-10-12)Official
  6. Content blocked: under 18, Vodafone Ireland (checked 2026-10-12)Official
  7. Secure Net, Vodafone Ireland (checked 2026-10-12)Official
  8. OneNumber, Vodafone Ireland (checked 2026-10-12)Official
  9. Adult content filter, Three Ireland (checked 2026-10-12)Official
  10. Terms and conditions (SmallPrint), Three Ireland (checked 2026-10-12)Official
  11. Smart watches, Three Ireland (checked 2026-10-12)Official
  12. Online safety, Tesco Mobile Ireland (checked 2026-10-12)Official
  13. General terms and conditions (and plan contract summaries), Tesco Mobile Ireland, 2026-07-10 (checked 2026-10-10)Official
  14. General terms and conditions, An Post Mobile (checked 2026-10-10)Official
  15. 48 Service Terms & Conditions, 48 (checked 2026-10-11)Official
  16. Child safety, 48 (checked 2026-10-12)Official
  17. Child safety, eir (checked 2026-10-12)Official
  18. eir Mobile Security app terms and conditions, eir, 2024-11-13 (checked 2026-10-12)Official
  19. Prepay, eir (checked 2026-10-12)Official
  20. Terms and Conditions of the eir Mobile Service, eir (checked 2026-10-10)Official
  21. Child safety, GoMo (checked 2026-10-12)Official
  22. Billing, GoMo (checked 2026-10-12)Official
  23. GoMo Mobile terms and conditions, GoMo, 2026-05-01 (checked 2026-10-12)Official
  24. eSIM, GoMo (checked 2026-10-12)Official
  25. General terms, Clear Mobile (checked 2026-10-11)Official
  26. SIM only terms (December 2025), Virgin Media Ireland, 2025-12-01 (checked 2026-10-10)Official
  27. Reached your data spend limit, Virgin Media Ireland (checked 2026-10-12)Official
  28. Lidl Connect, Lidl Ireland (checked 2026-10-11)Official
  29. Lidl Connect Terms and Conditions, 1GLOBAL (TP Ireland Operations Limited), 2026-09-29 (checked 2026-10-11)Official
  30. Lidl Connect Fair Use Policy, 1GLOBAL (TP Ireland Operations Limited), 2026-07-27 (checked 2026-10-11)Official
  31. Terms and conditions (last updated 14 June 2023), Lycamobile Ireland, 2023-06-14 (checked 2026-10-11)Official
  32. Pay as you go SIM bundles, Lycamobile Ireland (checked 2026-10-11)Official