Lidl Connect vs Tesco Mobile

Tesco Mobile runs on Three's network and ties its best prices to a Tesco Clubcard. Its Elevate SIM is €15 a month for the first 12 months online, then €30, on a 12-month contract. Moving to Lidl Connect means eir's network and a flat €12.99, but you lose Clubcard prices and may owe an exit fee.

Last updated:

Two illustrated smartphones on a table with a green arc of light carrying a SIM card from one to the other
On this page
  1. Is Lidl Connect cheaper than Tesco Mobile?
  2. What does Tesco Mobile give you that Lidl Connect does not?
  3. Is Tesco Mobile's network the same as Lidl Connect's?
  4. How do you switch from Tesco Mobile to Lidl Connect on bill pay?
  5. How do you switch from Tesco Mobile to Lidl Connect on prepay?
  6. What do you lose when you leave Tesco Mobile?
  7. What else should Tesco Mobile customers know before moving?
  8. When is the best time to leave Tesco Mobile?

Is Lidl Connect cheaper than Tesco Mobile?

Over a first year, yes, by €24.12. Tesco Mobile's Elevate SIM costs €30 a month, €180 in the first year with its intro price. Lidl Connect costs €12.99 a month with no activation fee, €155.88 a year, at its official price. After Tesco's intro year the gap is €17.01 a month.

Lidl Connect and Tesco Mobile compared, checked 2026-10-10
Lidl ConnectTesco Mobile
PlanLidl Connect UnlimitedElevate SIM
Price€12.99 a month€30 a month (€15 for the first 12)
First-year cost€155.88€180
NetworkeirThree
Data in IrelandUnlimited, no throttlingUnlimited
5GYesYes
eSIMYesNot stated
EU roaming data50GB36.95GB
ContractNone, monthly12 months
Activation fee€0€0
Price changesPrice for life on the same planno annual price increases on bill pay plans signed before December 2026

These figures use each provider's own published price, checked on 2026-10-10. Lidl Connect is shown at €12.99, the only price in 1GLOBAL's price list; the press reported a lower launch price for the first customers, which this comparison does not assume.

What does Tesco Mobile give you that Lidl Connect does not?

Tesco Mobile has no annual price increases on bill pay plans signed before December 2026, links prices and points to Clubcard, and runs on Three's network. It also sells a €20 Clubcard SIM with unlimited 5G on a monthly rolling plan, and prepay plans whose data doubles with Clubcard.

  • No annual price increases on bill pay plans signed before December 2026.
  • Clubcard prices and points.
  • 36.95GB of EU roaming data on Elevate.

Is Tesco Mobile's network the same as Lidl Connect's?

No. Tesco Mobile says it is "powered by the Three Network"; Lidl Connect runs on eir's. If your Tesco signal is good at home and work, check eir's coverage at the same places on ComReg's outdoor coverage map before you move. Three and eir cover rural areas and buildings differently.

Lidl Connect runs on eir. Before you move from a provider on a different network, check eir's coverage at home and at work on ComReg's outdoor coverage map ↗.

How do you switch from Tesco Mobile to Lidl Connect on bill pay?

Inside your minimum term, Tesco Mobile charges any outstanding charges plus the monthly charges for the rest of the term, and says this applies when you port out too. Outside it, give 30 days' notice in writing or by phone and no cancellation fee applies. Start the move in Lidl Plus with your Tesco account number.

  1. Check your contract

    24 months with a phone, 12 months SIM only, or 30-day rolling. Leaving early: in contract: outstanding charges plus the monthly charges for the rest of the minimum term, also when you port out. See leaving a contract early.

  2. Find your account number

    Bill pay: your number and account number; prepay: your number and whether it is registered.

  3. Start the move in Lidl Plus

    Choose to keep your number when you sign up for Lidl Connect. Do not cancel your old plan first: the move ends it for you when it completes.

  4. Keep your old SIM in

    Keep your old SIM in your phone until the move is done: a verification code is sent to it by text.

  5. Notice and the last bill

    Notice: 30 days, written or by phone. When the port completes: porting out ends the agreement; in contract, the cancellation charge applies. Final bill: Tesco Mobile does not state when the final bill comes.

How do you switch from Tesco Mobile to Lidl Connect on prepay?

Tesco itself advises using up your credit before moving your number, because it cannot be transferred. If you leave some, call 1903 within three months of switching to claim the credit you paid for; Tesco takes a €10 administrative charge. Credit Tesco gave you, and bundle allowances, are lost.

  1. Decide what to do with your credit

    Tesco Mobile refunds remaining top-up credit you paid for. Bonus credit: credit given by Tesco Mobile is lost; remaining bundle allowances are lost too.

  2. Know whether your number is registered

    Bill pay: your number and account number; prepay: your number and whether it is registered.

  3. Start the move in Lidl Plus

    Choose to keep your number when you sign up. Tesco itself advises using up remaining credit before you move your number, because it cannot be transferred.

  4. Keep your old SIM in

    Keep your old SIM in your phone until the move is done: a verification code is sent to it by text.

  5. Claim your credit after the move

    How: call 1903. Deadline: within 3 months of switching. Fee: €10 administrative charge. More on unused credit.

What do you lose when you leave Tesco Mobile?

You lose Clubcard prices, which need your Clubcard registered with Tesco Mobile, and the price freeze on 24-month plans. On prepay you lose Tesco-given credit and remaining bundle allowances, and a refund of paid credit costs €10. Inside a contract, the cancellation charge applies when you port out.

  • Clubcard prices, which need your Clubcard registered with Tesco Mobile.
  • The price freeze on 24-month plans.
  • Tesco-given credit and bundle allowances on prepay.
  • Price changes on Tesco Mobile: no annual price increases on bill pay plans signed before December 2026.

What else should Tesco Mobile customers know before moving?

With Tesco Mobile, timing matters most. If you are in the €15 first year, moving saves little; once it reverts to €30, the saving is €17.01 a month. Count the cancellation charge if you are inside the term. Tesco's prepay refund rules are clear, with a phone number, a deadline and a fixed fee.

Tesco Mobile's code of practice and complaints process: www.tescomobile.ie ↗. Tesco Mobile code of practice.

  • Tesco Mobile runs on Three’s network; Lidl Connect runs on eir’s.
  • Tesco Elevate SIM is €15 a month for 12 months online, then €30, on a 12-month contract.
  • Tesco prepay refunds cost €10 and must be claimed within 3 months by calling 1903.
  • Tesco includes 36.95GB of EU roaming data on Elevate; Lidl Connect includes 50GB.

When is the best time to leave Tesco Mobile?

At the end of the 12-month minimum term. Before then, Tesco charges the monthly charges left, which on Elevate at €15 can outweigh what you save. After the term, 30 days' notice and no fee apply, and the price rises to €30, so the monthly gap to Lidl Connect grows to €17.01.

Frequently asked questions

Does Tesco Mobile charge to refund prepay credit?

Yes, a €10 administrative charge, according to its prepay terms. Call 1903 within three months of switching. Credit given by Tesco Mobile is not refunded.

Do I lose Tesco Mobile Clubcard prices if I leave?

Yes. Tesco Mobile says the Clubcard must be registered with Tesco Mobile and maintained to keep the reduced price, so leaving ends it.

Does Tesco Mobile have annual price increases?

Tesco Mobile says there are no annual price increases on bill pay plans signed before December 2026, and its 24-month plans carry a price freeze.

When can Tesco Mobile unlock my phone?

Bill pay: free once the minimum term is completed. Prepay: after €150 of top-ups or nine months on Tesco Mobile. Tesco says it can take up to 21 working days.

Where these facts come from

Every fact on this page comes from one of these sources. We opened each one on the date shown.

  1. Lidl Connect mobile price list, 1GLOBAL (TP Ireland Operations Limited), 2026-09-04 (checked 2026-10-10)Official
  2. Lidl Connect, Lidl Ireland (checked 2026-10-10)Official
  3. Lidl Connect Fair Use Policy, 1GLOBAL (TP Ireland Operations Limited), 2026-07-27 (checked 2026-10-10)Official
  4. SIM only plans, Tesco Mobile Ireland (checked 2026-10-10)Official
  5. General terms and conditions (and plan contract summaries), Tesco Mobile Ireland, 2026-07-10 (checked 2026-10-10)Official
  6. Porting, eir (checked 2026-10-10)Official
  7. No annual price increases, Tesco Mobile Ireland (checked 2026-10-10)Official
  8. Can I unlock my Tesco Mobile phone?, Tesco Mobile Ireland (checked 2026-10-10)Official
  9. Code of practice, Tesco Mobile Ireland (checked 2026-10-10)Official
  10. Prepay terms and conditions, Tesco Mobile Ireland, 2025-12-11 (checked 2026-10-10)Official
  11. S.I. No. 444/2022 European Union (Electronic Communications Code) Regulations 2022, Irish Statute Book, 2022-09-06 (checked 2026-10-10)Official
  12. Switch Mobile Provider, ComReg, 2025-05-29 (checked 2026-10-10)Official
  13. Keep your existing number when switching, Tesco Mobile Ireland (checked 2026-10-10)Official
  14. Keep your number, eir (checked 2026-10-10)Official
  15. Unlock your phone, 48 (checked 2026-10-10)Official