Roaming with an Irish SIM: before you go and when it will not connect

Most Irish SIMs roam in the EU at no extra cost, but each network sets its own EU data limit, a few need something done first, and the fixes when a phone will not connect abroad differ. This page puts 12 networks side by side from their own pages, with prices for the USA, Turkey, India, Brazil and China, and what to do with a Ukrainian SIM in Ireland.

Last updated:

On this page
  1. What should you set up before roaming with an Irish SIM?
  2. What is the EU roaming allowance on each Irish network?
  3. What should you do when your Irish SIM will not connect abroad?
  4. Can you test roaming before you travel?
  5. How much does roaming cost outside the EU with an Irish SIM?
  6. Can you receive texts abroad outside the EU, such as bank codes?
  7. Is Ukraine included in EU roaming for Irish SIMs?
  8. Can you live abroad on an Irish SIM?

Roaming at a glance

EU, UK, Ukraine
At home prices on most networks, up to a data limit [13][7]
Needs a step first
Tesco Mobile prepay (Clubcard or app), 48 older plans, An Post (credit) [32][33]
Data limit outside the EU
€61.50 a month by default, by EU rule [7][10]
Bank codes outside the EU
Free to receive on Vodafone, 48, Virgin Mobile, Lycamobile and Lidl Connect [27][28]
Test before you go
No network or ComReg page gives a way

Checked 2026-10-12

What should you set up before roaming with an Irish SIM?

Turn on data roaming in your phone's settings when you land, and know your network's number for calling from abroad. Most Irish networks switch roaming on for every account, but Tesco Mobile prepay needs a Clubcard or the app first, 48's older plans work in Ireland only, and An Post Mobile will not roam with no credit.

  • Tesco Mobile: new prepay customers "will need to pass a basic customer authenticity check" before EU allowances work. Registering a Tesco Clubcard to the account passes it; the EU roaming page also accepts signing in to the app. On-net (Tesco to Tesco) allowances do not work abroad.
  • 48: "The Don, The Mitch, The Duke and standard are domestic only plans". The current plans and the Guido include EU and UK roaming; you can change plan when the current one expires.
  • eir prepay: roaming is set up "within 5 days of joining". eir also says to top up before you go, and promotional allowances cannot be used abroad.
  • Three: accounts are "sold with roaming activated", but if you have never used your Three phone abroad, Three asks you to contact it to check roaming is on. Free welcome or porting credit cannot be used for roaming.
  • An Post Mobile: with no credit you "will not be able to … use roaming", and add-ons do not work abroad; cash balance does.
  • For the USA, take a 4G or 5G phone: Three, eir and Clear warn that older 2G or 3G phones may get no service there.

What is the EU roaming allowance on each Irish network?

Between 10GB and 75GB a month on the plans in this table, and Sky's Unlimited plan sets no limit. Calls and texts usually come from your normal allowance. Above the data limit some networks charge a small surcharge, capped by EU law at €1.10 per GB plus VAT in 2026, while 48 and Lidl Connect stop the data.

Where a network's own pages give two figures, the table shows both. Tesco Mobile also lets you text ROAM to 1744 for your allowance, and eir lets you text "balance roam" to 50104. The EU, EEA and UK count the same on every network here, apart from Lycamobile's PAYG rates for the UK.

EU roaming by network (SIM-only and prepay plans, as each publishes them)
NetworkBefore you goEU data a monthAbove the limitUkraine
ThreeOn by default; first time abroad, ask Three to check10GB (Total Talker), 30GB (Super Surfer), 37GB (Connect Complete)0.14c/MB; €1.30/MB (Total Talker)Included
VodafoneNothing: on by default45GB (pay as you go unlimited) (another official page says: 40GB)€0.0013211/MBIncluded
eirPrepay: active within 5 days of joining30GB (€20 prepay), 45GB (€30 prepay); 45–75GB (bill pay) (another official page says: 13.1–24.4GB on prepay)€1.35/GB (another official page says: €1.91/GB)Included
GoMoNothing: on by default23GB€1.60/GB (after you opt in)Included
48A current plan (older plans are Ireland only)20GB (€12.99), 17GB (€10.99) (another official page says: 22GB and 18GB)Data stops (another official page says: you can go over, no price given)Included
Tesco MobileNew prepay: register a Clubcard or sign in to the app15GB (Prepay 15), 22.17GB (Prepay 15 + Clubcard, Data Plus), 29.56GB (Data Ultra 5G)0.13c/MBCharged as outside the EU
Virgin MobileNothing: on by default37GB (another official page says: 32GB)€1.30/GBIncluded
Clear MobileNothing: on by default23GB€0.0013211/MBIncluded
An Post MobileCredit on the account25GB€1.35/GB (another official page says: €1.30/GB)Not stated
LycamobileNot stated23GB (Ireland Plus), 37GB (Unlimited Plus), 30GB (Go Unlimited)€0.0036/MBIncluded (another official page says: charged as outside the EU)
Sky MobileNothing: on by defaultNo limit stated (Unlimited plan)Not statedIncluded
Lidl ConnectNothing: on by default50GBData stopsIncluded

What should you do when your Irish SIM will not connect abroad?

Check that data roaming and mobile data are on, restart the phone or switch flight mode on and off, and wait: Virgin Media says the search can take up to 10 minutes. If it still fails, turn off automatic network selection and pick a network by hand. Some listed networks do not accept your SIM, so try another.

48: the SIM menu fix

48's guide: set the phone's network selection to automatic, then open the 48 SIM Menu, go to When Abroad, Network Selection, switch to Manual and pick "International – Roaming Profile". If calls work but data does not, delete the APN and enter 48months.liffeytelecom.com with the name 48 Internet. Back in Ireland, set the SIM menu to Automatic again.

Sky Mobile: SIM Toolkit

If you have no signal or only emergency calls, open Sky Menu or SIM Toolkit, then Roaming, and choose Automatic; if that was already set, tap Home, then Automatic again, then try Abroad. Sky's APN is mobile.sky. A roaming spend cap set too low, or at €0, also blocks use abroad.

eir: accept the charges text

eir's first check is whether you accepted the terms in the "advice of charge" text you get when you start roaming. Then check your allowance (text "balance roam" to 50104), make sure roaming data is on, and switch the phone off for at least 30 seconds.

Clear Mobile and Virgin Media: the APN

Clear says data may not work abroad unless the APN is isp.clearmobile.ie. Virgin Media suggests resetting network settings on an iPhone or resetting the APN to default on Android, then choosing another network by hand and, once it fails, Virgin Media again. In the Netherlands, Virgin's SIM application needs Roaming, Manual, International.

Data stopped: the spend cap

Networks must stop roaming data at a default limit unless you agree to continue. Three: text REMCAP to 50232. Vodafone: text PASS CAP to 50193. 48: REMCAP1 to 1745. Tesco Mobile: REMCAP1 to 1744. You can still call and text.

Can you test roaming before you travel?

Not really. None of the networks' pages or ComReg's describe a way to test roaming from Ireland. What you can check at home: that your plan includes roaming, that data roaming is allowed in the phone, that any step your network needs is done (a Clubcard for Tesco prepay), and that you have its number from abroad.

How much does roaming cost outside the EU with an Irish SIM?

Much more than at home, and every network prices it differently. Data ranges from 3c per MB on GoMo, Clear and Sky to €7 per MB on Virgin Media, and some networks sell day or week passes. Lidl Connect does not work outside its zone at all. A default €61.50 data limit applies unless you lift it.

Passes: Three sells a €5.99 Day Pass with 2GB in these five countries; Vodafone pay as you go uses Red Roaming at €2.99 or €4.99 a day with unlimited calls and texts and 500MB; eir sells 1GB for €29.99 by texting Data ROW (or Data USACAN) to 50104; Lycamobile sells 7-day packs. Tesco Mobile prices data by zone but does not publish which country is in which zone.

Near the border, your phone can connect to a network in another country and roam by accident: ComReg names Northern Ireland, and Greek islands near Turkey. Satellite networks on ferries and planes are not covered by roam-like-home. Choosing your network by hand avoids both.

Data outside the EU, as each network prices it
NetworkUSATurkeyIndiaBrazilChina
Three€4.99/MB€4.99/MB€4.99/MB€4.99/MB€4.99/MB
Vodafone€2.99/day (500MB)€2.99/day (500MB)€4.99/day (500MB)€4.99/day (500MB)€4.99/day (500MB)
eir€4.99/MB; 1GB €29.99€4.99/MB; 1GB €29.99€4.99/MB; 1GB €29.99€4.99/MB; 1GB €29.99€4.99/MB; 1GB €29.99
GoMo€0.03/MB€0.03/MB€0.03/MB€0.03/MB€0.03/MB
48€0.10/MB€0.10/MBNot listedNot listedNot listed
Tesco Mobile€0.29–€3.99/MB (by zone)€0.29–€3.99/MB (by zone)€0.29–€3.99/MB (by zone)€0.29–€3.99/MB (by zone)€0.29–€3.99/MB (by zone)
Virgin Mobile€7.00/MB; 175MB €20€7.00/MB€7.00/MB€7.00/MB€7.00/MB
Clear Mobile€0.03/MB€0.03/MB€0.03/MB€0.03/MB€0.03/MB
An Post Mobile€6.15/MB€6.15/MB€6.15/MB€6.15/MB€6.15/MB
Lycamobile3GB €8 / 7 days2GB €5 / 7 days2GB €5 / 7 days500MB €18 / 7 days500MB €15 / 7 days
Sky Mobile€0.03/MB€0.03/MB€0.75/MB€0.10/MB€0.10/MB
Lidl ConnectNot availableNot availableNot availableNot availableNot available

Can you receive texts abroad outside the EU, such as bank codes?

Yes on most networks. Vodafone, 48, Virgin Mobile, Lycamobile and Lidl Connect say receiving a text outside the EU is free, and Lidl Connect says texts arrive "regardless of which country you are in", even where its calls and data do not work. An Post Mobile charges 30c a text; the rest do not say.

Texts, limits and help from abroad
NetworkReceiving texts outside the EUDefault data limitCustomer care from abroad
ThreeNot stated€61.50 / €123: REMCAP to 50232+353 83 333 3333
VodafoneFree€60: PASS CAP to 50193 (another official page says: €61.50)+353 1 203 8232
eirNot statedNot stated+353 1 766 2037 (prepay), +353 1 766 2599 (bill pay)
GoMoNot statedNot statedChat only
48Free€61.50 / €123: REMCAP1 to 1745Chat only
Tesco MobileNot stated€61.50 / €123: REMCAP1 to 17441743 (roaming line), +353 89 420 0000
Virgin MobileFree€61.50 (My Virgin Media)+353 89 619 1908
Clear MobileNot stated€50 + VAT (Clear can remove it)Chat only
An Post Mobile€0.30Not stated+353 1 705 7700
LycamobileFreeNot stated+353 1 437 2322
Sky MobileNot stated€61.50 / €123 (or turn it off)Free, number not shown
Lidl ConnectFreeData stops+353 1 920 3010

Is Ukraine included in EU roaming for Irish SIMs?

Yes, since 1 January 2026 under EU rules, and most Irish networks now list Ukraine in their roam-like-home zone. Tesco Mobile's rate tool still prices Ukraine like India or China, and Lycamobile's roaming page does too although its plan terms include Ukraine. An Post Mobile does not say. Check with those three before you go.

Using a Ukrainian SIM in Ireland

lifecell lists Ireland in its roam-like-home countries, with one Irish partner network, Eircom (eir). If it will not connect, lifecell says: set automatic network selection, switch the phone fully off for a few minutes, wait 5 to 10 minutes, then restart and pick the network by hand. Its APN is internet, Wi-Fi calling does not work in roaming, and roaming data stops at UAH 5,500 a month until you dial *108*7#. Support: +380 63 5433 111.

Vodafone Ukraine applies roam-like-home in Ireland if a prepay package is active (check with *101*4#) or a contract bill is paid. If it does not register, choose the network manually; roaming data pauses at €100 a month until you dial *600*17#. It warns that after 90 days abroad a host network may block roaming. Support: +380 500 400 111.

Kyivstar's site could not be opened from Ireland when we checked, so we have nothing from it to quote.

Can you live abroad on an Irish SIM?

Not for long at home prices. EU rules let a network check your use over at least four months: if you spent more days abroad than in Ireland and used more abroad than at home, it can warn you and, two weeks later, add surcharges. Any day your phone joins an Irish network counts as a day at home.

Frequently asked questions

Why is my 48 roaming not working?

Check that you are on a current 48 plan (The Don, The Mitch, The Duke and standard work in Ireland only) and have not used the EU allowance. Then follow 48’s guide: in the 48 SIM Menu, When Abroad, Network Selection, choose Manual and "International – Roaming Profile".

Does Tesco Mobile roaming need a Clubcard?

For new prepay customers, yes or the app: Tesco Mobile says they must pass a basic authenticity check before EU allowances work, done by registering a Clubcard to the account; its EU roaming page also accepts signing in to the app. Text ROAM to 1744 for your allowance.

What is the €61.50 roaming limit?

An EU rule: networks stop roaming data at a default of about €50 plus VAT a month, €61.50 in Ireland, unless you agree to continue, usually by text. Outside the EU the alert can arrive late, and it covers data only, not calls or texts.

Is the UK included in EU roaming on an Irish SIM?

Networks do not have to include it after Brexit, but every network in our table treats the UK like the EU for allowances. Lycamobile shows separate pay-as-you-go prices for the UK while its EU passes still work there.

Does Lidl Connect work in the USA?

No. Lidl Connect roaming covers the EU and EEA, the UK, Switzerland, Ukraine and Moldova; elsewhere calls, texts and data do not work. Texts, including bank codes, still arrive where there is coverage.

Is roaming on a ferry or plane free?

No. Satellite networks on ships and planes are not part of roam-like-home and can cost much more. Switch off data roaming or use flight mode on board.

Where these facts come from

Every fact on this page comes from one of these sources. We opened each one on the date shown.

  1. Roaming, ComReg (checked 2026-10-12)Official
  2. Using your mobile within the EU, ComReg (checked 2026-10-12)Official
  3. Using your mobile outside the EU, ComReg (checked 2026-10-12)Official
  4. Regulation (EU) 2022/612 on roaming, European Union, 2022-04-06 (checked 2026-10-12)Official
  5. Implementing Regulation (EU) 2016/2286 (fair use policy), European Commission, 2016-12-15 (checked 2026-10-12)Official
  6. Roaming now fully operational with Ukraine, European Commission, 2026-01-05 (checked 2026-10-12)Official
  7. Roaming, Three Ireland (checked 2026-10-12)Official
  8. How to use your phone abroad, Three Ireland (3Community, staff article) (checked 2026-10-12)Official
  9. Troubleshooting roaming issues, Three Ireland (3Community, staff article) (checked 2026-10-12)Official
  10. Prepay data roaming cap, Three Ireland (3Community, staff article) (checked 2026-10-12)Official
  11. Prepay price plan terms and conditions, Three Ireland, 2026-05-13 (checked 2026-10-12)Official
  12. EU roaming, Three Ireland (checked 2026-10-12)Official
  13. Prepay price guide (December 2025), Three Ireland, 2025-12-01 (checked 2026-10-11)Official
  14. Roaming, Vodafone Ireland (checked 2026-10-12)Official
  15. Data roaming spend caps, Vodafone Ireland (checked 2026-10-12)Official
  16. Travelling abroad (support), Vodafone Ireland (checked 2026-10-12)Official
  17. Pay as you go pricing information (December 2025), Vodafone Ireland, 2025-12-01 (checked 2026-10-12)Official
  18. Roaming, eir (checked 2026-10-12)Official
  19. Roaming: prepay, eir (checked 2026-10-12)Official
  20. Roaming: bill pay, eir (checked 2026-10-12)Official
  21. Roaming set-up (prepay help), eir (checked 2026-10-12)Official
  22. Roaming set-up (bill pay help), eir (checked 2026-10-12)Official
  23. Roaming charges (prepay help), eir (checked 2026-10-12)Official
  24. Roaming destinations by zone (prepay), eir, 2025-12-31 (checked 2026-10-12)Official
  25. Our roaming rates, GoMo (checked 2026-10-12)Official
  26. GoMo roaming charges, GoMo, 2026-09-07 (checked 2026-10-12)Official
  27. Roaming charges, 48 (checked 2026-10-12)Official
  28. Roaming: using your phone abroad, 48 (community, staff article) (checked 2026-10-12)Official
  29. The roaming troubleshooting guide, 48 (community, staff article), 2025-07-22 (checked 2026-10-12)Official
  30. Home page plans, 48 (checked 2026-10-12)Official
  31. Price plan details, 48 (checked 2026-10-11)Official
  32. Prepay roaming, Tesco Mobile Ireland (checked 2026-10-12)Official
  33. EU roaming regulation, Tesco Mobile Ireland (checked 2026-10-12)Official
  34. Tips for when you are travelling abroad, Tesco Mobile Ireland (checked 2026-10-12)Official
  35. Roaming and international (rates), Tesco Mobile Ireland (checked 2026-10-12)Official
  36. Roaming, Virgin Media Ireland (checked 2026-10-12)Official
  37. SIM only, Virgin Media Ireland, 2026-04-02 (checked 2026-10-12)Official
  38. Fees and charges (price list), Virgin Media Ireland, 2026-01-01 (checked 2026-10-12)Official
  39. SIM only terms (2026), Virgin Media Ireland (checked 2026-10-11)Official
  40. Roaming help, Clear Mobile, 2025-12-15 (checked 2026-10-12)Official
  41. €12.99 price plan (Dec 2025), Clear Mobile, 2025-03-20 (checked 2026-10-12)Official
  42. General terms, Clear Mobile (checked 2026-10-11)Official
  43. An Post Mobile general terms and conditions, An Post, 2026-09-17 (checked 2026-10-12)Official
  44. An Post Mobile FAQs: international and roaming rates, An Post (checked 2026-10-12)Official
  45. An Post Mobile help, An Post (checked 2026-10-12)Official
  46. Prepay €18 plan, An Post Mobile (checked 2026-10-11)Official
  47. Roaming, Lycamobile Ireland (checked 2026-10-12)Official
  48. Pay as you go SIM bundles, Lycamobile Ireland (checked 2026-10-11)Official
  49. Ireland Plus bundle, Lycamobile Ireland (checked 2026-10-11)Official
  50. Contact us, Lycamobile Ireland (checked 2026-10-12)Official
  51. Roam like home with Sky Mobile (ROI), Sky Ireland (checked 2026-10-12)Official
  52. Using Sky Mobile abroad (ROI), Sky Ireland (checked 2026-10-12)Official
  53. Roaming issues (ROI), Sky Ireland (checked 2026-10-12)Official
  54. Sky Mobile spend caps (ROI), Sky Ireland (checked 2026-10-12)Official
  55. Sky Mobile tariff guide (prices from 29 September 2026), Sky Ireland, 2026-09-29 (checked 2026-10-12)Official
  56. Sky Mobile plans, Sky Ireland (checked 2026-10-12)Official
  57. Lidl Connect Ireland roaming information, 1GLOBAL, 2026-09-29 (checked 2026-10-10)Official
  58. Lidl Connect Fair Use Policy, 1GLOBAL (TP Ireland Operations Limited), 2026-07-27 (checked 2026-10-11)Official
  59. Lidl Connect Terms and Conditions, 1GLOBAL (TP Ireland Operations Limited), 2026-09-29 (checked 2026-10-11)Official
  60. Lidl Connect mobile price list, 1GLOBAL (TP Ireland Operations Limited), 2026-09-04 (checked 2026-10-11)Official
  61. How can I be sure that my roaming will work?, Lidl Ireland customer service (checked 2026-10-12)Official
  62. Can I receive SMS and phone calls from any phone number in the world?, Lidl Ireland (checked 2026-10-12)Official
  63. Роумінг як вдома: політика добросовісного користування, lifecell (Ukraine) (checked 2026-10-12)Official
  64. Роумінг, lifecell (Ukraine) (checked 2026-10-12)Official
  65. Роумінг-інфо по країнам та операторам, lifecell (Ukraine), 2026-09-24 (checked 2026-10-12)Official
  66. Фінансові ліміти в роумінгу, lifecell (Ukraine), 2026-01-07 (checked 2026-10-12)Official
  67. Roaming, Vodafone Ukraine (checked 2026-10-12)Official