Lidl Connect vs 48

48 and Lidl Connect both sell one simple unlimited 5G plan at €12.99 a month with no contract. 48 runs on Three's network and is prepay; Lidl Connect runs on eir's. 48's current offer makes it cheaper in the first year, while Lidl Connect has no activation fee and more roaming data.

Last updated:

Two illustrated smartphones on a table with a green arc of light carrying a SIM card from one to the other
On this page
  1. Is Lidl Connect cheaper than 48?
  2. What does 48 give you that Lidl Connect does not?
  3. Is 48's network the same as Lidl Connect's?
  4. How do you switch from 48 to Lidl Connect on prepay?
  5. What do you lose when you leave 48?
  6. What else should 48 customers know before moving?
  7. When does moving from 48 make sense?

Is Lidl Connect cheaper than 48?

Not over a first year: 48's Unlimited 5G comes to €147.87 with its intro price and its activation fee, against €155.88 for Lidl Connect at €12.99 a month. 48's six discounted plans explain the gap. After them both cost €12.99 a month, and Lidl Connect has no activation fee.

Lidl Connect and 48 compared, checked 2026-10-10
Lidl Connect48
PlanLidl Connect UnlimitedUnlimited 5G
Price€12.99 a month€12.99 a month (€9.99 for the first 6)
First-year cost€155.88€147.87
NetworkeirThree
Data in IrelandUnlimited, no throttlingUnlimited
5GYesYes
eSIMYesNot stated
EU roaming data50GB20GB
ContractNone, monthlyNone, monthly prepay
Activation fee€0€9.99
Price changesPrice for life on the same plannone found: 48 advertises “No annual price hikes”

These figures use each provider's own published price, checked on 2026-10-10. Lidl Connect is shown at €12.99, the only price in 1GLOBAL's price list; the press reported a lower launch price for the first customers, which this comparison does not assume.

What does 48 give you that Lidl Connect does not?

In the first year, price: 48's offer is €9.99 for the first six plans, then €12.99, and it advertises no annual price hikes. It also runs on Three's network, which may suit you better than eir where you live. 48 is aimed at younger customers and offers a student plan too.

  • €9.99 for the first six plans on Unlimited 5G, an offer that ends on 1 November 2026, then €12.99.
  • "No annual price hikes", according to 48's plan page.
  • A 100GB student plan at €10.99.

Is 48's network the same as Lidl Connect's?

No. 48 says it is "Powered by Three", while Lidl Connect runs on eir. The two networks cover Ireland differently, especially indoors and in rural areas. Check both on ComReg's outdoor coverage map at your home and work address before you move, because the network matters more than the plan here.

Lidl Connect runs on eir. Before you move from a provider on a different network, check eir's coverage at home and at work on ComReg's outdoor coverage map ↗.

How do you switch from 48 to Lidl Connect on prepay?

48 is prepay with no cancellation charges, and the agreement ends automatically when your number moves. Start the switch in the Lidl Plus app, keep your 48 SIM in until it completes because a code is sent to it, then ask 48 for any remaining credit within three months. An administrative fee applies.

  1. Decide what to do with your credit

    48 refunds remaining credit on request when you switch to another operator. Bonus credit: 48 does not state whether the unused part of a 30-day plan counts as credit.

  2. Know whether your number is registered

    Your mobile number, and whether your prepay number is registered (your old provider has your name and address); no account number is needed.

  3. Start the move in Lidl Plus

    Choose to keep your number when you sign up. 48 ends the agreement automatically when the port completes; there are no cancellation charges.

  4. Keep your old SIM in

    Keep your old SIM in your phone until the move is done: a verification code is sent to it by text.

  5. Claim your credit after the move

    How: ask 48 (complaints and care line 1800 825 848). Deadline: within three months of switching. Fee: an administrative fee applies; 48 says it is published at 48.ie/charges, but the amount was not found there. More on unused credit.

What do you lose when you leave 48?

You lose any 48 discount you are still on, such as the €9.99 introductory plans, and whatever is left of your current 30-day plan. 48's terms do not say whether the unused part of a plan counts as refundable credit. There is no contract to buy out and no annual increase to escape.

  • Any time-limited 48 discount, such as €9.99 for the first six plans.
  • Whatever is left of your current 30-day plan’s allowance.
  • Price changes on 48: none found: 48 advertises “No annual price hikes”

What else should 48 customers know before moving?

The deciding points with 48 are the network, since 48 is on Three and Lidl Connect on eir, the timing of 48's introductory offer, and roaming: 48 includes 20GB of EU and UK data, Lidl Connect 50GB. If you travel often, that gap matters more than the price.

48's code of practice and complaints process: www.48.ie ↗. 1800 825 848.

  • 48 runs on Three’s network and Lidl Connect on eir’s, so check coverage where you live on the ComReg map before you move.
  • 48’s Unlimited 5G is €9.99 for the first six plans, then €12.99, with a €9.99 activation fee; that offer ends on 1 November 2026.
  • 48 includes 20GB of EU and UK roaming data; Lidl Connect includes 50GB.

When does moving from 48 make sense?

After your 48 introductory plans end, both cost €12.99, so the reasons to move are network and roaming. If eir covers your area better than Three, or you travel in Europe and need more than 20GB, Lidl Connect gives more for the same monthly price. If Three serves you well and you rarely roam, staying is reasonable.

Frequently asked questions

Does 48 charge to leave?

48’s terms say no cancellation charges apply, and the agreement ends automatically when your number has moved to the new provider.

Can I get my 48 credit back?

Yes, on request within three months of switching, under 48’s terms. An administrative fee applies; 48 says the amount is on its charges page, which we could not find it on.

Does 48 support eSIM?

We did not find eSIM on 48’s own pages, so this site lists it as not stated. Lidl Connect supports eSIM, set up in the Lidl Plus app.

Is 48 on the same network as Lidl Connect?

No. 48 runs on Three’s network and Lidl Connect on eir’s. Check both on ComReg’s outdoor coverage map before you switch.

Where these facts come from

Every fact on this page comes from one of these sources. We opened each one on the date shown.

  1. Lidl Connect mobile price list, 1GLOBAL (TP Ireland Operations Limited), 2026-09-04 (checked 2026-10-10)Official
  2. Lidl Connect, Lidl Ireland (checked 2026-10-10)Official
  3. Lidl Connect Fair Use Policy, 1GLOBAL (TP Ireland Operations Limited), 2026-07-27 (checked 2026-10-10)Official
  4. Buy a plan, 48 (checked 2026-10-10)Official
  5. 48 Service Terms & Conditions, 48 (checked 2026-10-10)Official
  6. Porting, eir (checked 2026-10-10)Official
  7. Keep your number, eir (checked 2026-10-10)Official
  8. Unlock your phone, 48 (checked 2026-10-10)Official
  9. Code of practice, 48 (checked 2026-10-10)Official
  10. S.I. No. 444/2022 European Union (Electronic Communications Code) Regulations 2022, Irish Statute Book, 2022-09-06 (checked 2026-10-10)Official
  11. Switch Mobile Provider, ComReg, 2025-05-29 (checked 2026-10-10)Official
  12. Outdoor mobile coverage map, ComReg (checked 2026-10-10)Official