Lidl Connect vs An Post Mobile

An Post Mobile is prepay with no contract, running on Vodafone's network, with Totally Unlimited at €18 every 28 days. Moving to Lidl Connect costs less over a year and adds eSIM and more roaming data, but you change network and must claim any cash balance within three months.

Last updated:

Two illustrated smartphones on a table with a green arc of light carrying a SIM card from one to the other
On this page
  1. Is Lidl Connect cheaper than An Post Mobile?
  2. What does An Post Mobile give you that Lidl Connect does not?
  3. Is An Post Mobile's network the same as Lidl Connect's?
  4. How do you switch from An Post Mobile to Lidl Connect on prepay?
  5. What do you lose when you leave An Post Mobile?
  6. What else should An Post Mobile customers know before moving?
  7. What did ComReg do about An Post Mobile credit?

Is Lidl Connect cheaper than An Post Mobile?

Over a first year, yes, by €78.12. An Post Mobile's Totally Unlimited costs €18 every 28 days, €234 in the first year. Lidl Connect costs €12.99 a month with no activation fee, €155.88 a year, at its official price. An Post's 13 payments a year make up part of the gap.

Lidl Connect and An Post Mobile compared, checked 2026-10-10
Lidl ConnectAn Post Mobile
PlanLidl Connect UnlimitedTotally Unlimited
Price€12.99 a month€18 every 28 days
First-year cost€155.88€234
NetworkeirVodafone
Data in IrelandUnlimited, no throttlingUnlimited (120GB fair use in the terms)
5GYesNot stated
eSIMYesNot stated
EU roaming data50GB25GB
ContractNone, monthlyNone, prepay
Activation fee€0€0
Price changesPrice for life on the same planAn Post Mobile does not state an annual price change

These figures use each provider's own published price, checked on 2026-10-10. Lidl Connect is shown at €12.99, the only price in 1GLOBAL's price list; the press reported a lower launch price for the first customers, which this comparison does not assume.

An Post Mobile charges every 28 days, which is 13 payments a year rather than 12. The yearly figure above counts all 13.

What does An Post Mobile give you that Lidl Connect does not?

An Post Mobile has no contract and no minimum term, and it runs on Vodafone's network, which may serve your area better than eir. Its plans are sold at post offices as well as online. ComReg has enforced its refund rules, and An Post Mobile has refunded credit to customers who left.

  • No minimum term: the agreement ends when your number moves.
  • Vodafone's network.
  • Sold in post offices.

Is An Post Mobile's network the same as Lidl Connect's?

No. ComReg lists An Post Mobile on Vodafone's network; Lidl Connect runs on eir's. Check eir's coverage at home and work on ComReg's outdoor coverage map before you move. Clear Mobile also runs on Vodafone if you want to stay on that network.

Lidl Connect runs on eir. Before you move from a provider on a different network, check eir's coverage at home and at work on ComReg's outdoor coverage map ↗.

How do you switch from An Post Mobile to Lidl Connect on prepay?

Start the switch in Lidl Plus. An Post Mobile's terms say your cash balance is lost the moment the port completes unless you ask for it: email [email protected] within three months of switching. An administration fee "may apply", with no amount stated. Only the balance you put on the account is refundable.

  1. Decide what to do with your credit

    The cash balance is lost when the port completes, unless you ask for a refund. Bonus credit: only the cash balance “you have put on your account” is refundable.

  2. Know whether your number is registered

    Your mobile number, and whether your prepay number is registered (your old provider has your name and address); no account number is needed.

  3. Start the move in Lidl Plus

    Choose to keep your number when you sign up. The agreement ends on completion of porting; there is no minimum term.

  4. Keep your old SIM in

    Keep your old SIM in your phone until the move is done: a verification code is sent to it by text.

  5. Claim your credit after the move

    How: email [email protected]. Deadline: within 3 months of switching. Fee: “an administration fee may apply” (amount not stated). More on unused credit.

What do you lose when you leave An Post Mobile?

You lose whatever is left of your current 28-day plan and any credit you do not claim. An Post Mobile has no contract, so there is no exit fee and no price rise to escape. It says service updates are coming in 2026, which may change its terms.

  • Whatever is left of your current 28-day plan.
  • Price changes on An Post Mobile: An Post Mobile does not state an annual price change.

What else should An Post Mobile customers know before moving?

For An Post Mobile customers, claim your balance in writing within three months: ComReg has acted on this before. Count 13 payments a year when comparing prices. An Post Mobile is also replacing SIMs issued before September 2025, so check your SIM if you stay.

An Post Mobile's code of practice and complaints process: www.anpost.com ↗. An Post Mobile customer charter and complaints code.

  • In March 2025 ComReg announced that An Post Mobile refunded over €25,000 of credit left on accounts that had ported away.
  • An Post Mobile Totally Unlimited is €18 every 28 days: 13 top-ups, €234 a year.
  • An Post Mobile runs on Vodafone’s network; Lidl Connect runs on eir’s.
  • An Post Mobile says service updates are coming in 2026 and asks holders of SIMs from before September 2025 to order a free replacement.

What did ComReg do about An Post Mobile credit?

In March 2025 ComReg announced that An Post Mobile had refunded over €25,000 to customers, for "excess credit remaining on accounts that have ported away". It is the clearest public example of the refund rule being enforced in Ireland, and a reason to ask for your balance in writing if you leave.

Frequently asked questions

How do I get my An Post Mobile credit back?

Email [email protected] within three months of switching. Its terms say an administration fee may apply and that the balance is lost on porting unless you request it.

Does An Post Mobile have a contract?

No. Its contract summaries show a minimum term of zero months, and the agreement ends with 30 days’ email notice or on completion of porting.

Which network is An Post Mobile on?

Vodafone’s, according to ComReg. Lidl Connect is on eir’s network, so check coverage at your address before you move.

Will An Post Mobile unlock my phone?

An Post Mobile’s FAQ says unlock codes are free and take 5 to 20 working days; its terms say after a qualifying period.

Where these facts come from

Every fact on this page comes from one of these sources. We opened each one on the date shown.

  1. Lidl Connect mobile price list, 1GLOBAL (TP Ireland Operations Limited), 2026-09-04 (checked 2026-10-10)Official
  2. Lidl Connect, Lidl Ireland (checked 2026-10-10)Official
  3. Lidl Connect Fair Use Policy, 1GLOBAL (TP Ireland Operations Limited), 2026-07-27 (checked 2026-10-10)Official
  4. Totally Unlimited, An Post Mobile (checked 2026-10-10)Official
  5. 3G retirement, ComReg (checked 2026-10-10)Official
  6. SIM only plans, An Post Mobile (checked 2026-10-10)Official
  7. Porting, eir (checked 2026-10-10)Official
  8. Keep your number, eir (checked 2026-10-10)Official
  9. General terms and conditions, An Post Mobile (checked 2026-10-10)Official
  10. Customer charter, An Post Mobile (checked 2026-10-10)Official
  11. S.I. No. 444/2022 European Union (Electronic Communications Code) Regulations 2022, Irish Statute Book, 2022-09-06 (checked 2026-10-10)Official
  12. Switch Mobile Provider, ComReg, 2025-05-29 (checked 2026-10-10)Official
  13. Unlock your phone, 48 (checked 2026-10-10)Official
  14. An Post Mobile refunds over €25,000 to customers, ComReg, 2025-03-31 (checked 2026-10-10)Official
  15. An Post Mobile, An Post Mobile (checked 2026-10-10)Official