New to Ireland: your first Irish SIM, step by step
A phone number is one of the first things to sort out in Ireland, because banks, landlords and employers all ask for one. This page covers what you can do before you land, where to buy a SIM at Dublin Airport, whether you need ID, how to pay from a foreign account, and when a phone bill counts as proof of address.
Last updated:

On this page
A first Irish SIM at a glance
- ID for prepay
- Usually not; Lidl Connect checks none
- Before you fly
- Vodafone prepay eSIM
- Dublin Airport
- WHSmith T1 and SIM machines
- Foreign euro IBAN
- Must be accepted
Can you get an Irish SIM before you arrive?
Yes, with some networks. Vodafone sells a prepay eSIM you can buy before coming to Ireland and activate before or after you land. Lycamobile emails an eSIM that must be activated in Ireland. An Post Mobile delivers only to Irish addresses, GoMo needs an Eircode, and Clear Mobile and Sky expect you to live in Ireland.
- Three sells a visitor eSIM you can buy and activate online with no store visit, but does not say whether you can order from abroad; it sends physical SIMs only within Ireland.
- Lidl Connect’s plan starts when you pay, not when you install the eSIM, so buying early means paying for days before you arrive.
- Your phone must be unlocked to take an Irish SIM; GoMo says so for its eSIM, and our eSIM guide lists which networks offer one.
Where can you buy a SIM at Dublin Airport?
Three and Vodafone say their prepay SIMs are sold at WHSmith in Terminal 1 and from SIM machines in the terminals, and Lycamobile says airport shops and kiosks sell its SIMs and ask for your passport. Vodafone warns that plan prices may differ at the airport, so compare before you buy.
Away from the airport, Three, Vodafone, eir (71 stores), Tesco Mobile (46 shops) and Virgin Media (5 stores and Harvey Norman) sell SIMs in their shops. Lidl sells its physical SIM in its stores for €0.99, and 48 SIMs are sold in Dealz for a small fee or sent free by post. GoMo sells online only, and Clear Mobile and Sky show only online sign-up.
Do you need ID to get a SIM in Ireland?
For prepay, usually not. ComReg said in 2024 it was not minded to require prepay SIM registration, Lidl Connect says no identity check is needed at present, and 48 asks only for a name, email and password. Lycamobile may ask you to register. Bill pay plans are different: most check your ID, address and credit.
The 2024 ComReg paper is a draft: it also urged networks to stop anonymous prepay sales and to block a SIM until it is registered online, and ComReg says it will publish final guidance. Tesco Mobile asks prepay customers to sign in to its app or link a Clubcard before using their plan in the EU. For bill pay, Vodafone and Tesco Mobile ask for proof you live in Ireland, and Three, eir, Vodafone and Clear Mobile may ask for a deposit or advance payment.
| Network | Sign-up checks | How you pay | Where to get it |
|---|---|---|---|
| Lidl Connect | No identity check at present; Lidl Plus app, 18 or over | Card in the app | eSIM in the app; physical SIM in Lidl stores, €0.99 |
| 48 | Name, email and password | Card; Revolut accepted | Free SIM by post in 3–6 working days; Dealz and some shops |
| Lycamobile | May ask you to register; passport when buying at Dublin Airport | Card or other methods | Dublin Airport shops and kiosks; eSIM by email, activated in Ireland |
| Three | Prepay: not stated. Bill pay: may ask for photo ID and proof of address; credit check | Bill pay: direct debit, or €4.57 a month extra without it | Dublin Airport: WH Smith in T1, SIM machines in T1 and T2; Three stores; eSIM online |
| Vodafone | Prepay: not stated. Bill pay: ID, address, proof you live in Ireland, credit rating | Bill pay: SEPA direct debit or card; a foreign bank account is set up in a store | Prepay eSIM before you travel; Dublin Airport T1 WHSmith and SIM machines; stores |
| eir | Bill pay: credit and anti-money-laundering checks; deposit possible | Bill pay: direct debit for the first 3 bills, €2 a month without it; foreign banks take longer | 71 eir stores; online |
| Tesco Mobile | Prepay: no ID in the terms; EU roaming needs the app or a Clubcard. Bill pay: ID, proof you live in Ireland, credit score | Card or direct debit | 46 Tesco Mobile shops; online, sent to your billing address |
| An Post Mobile | Not stated | Top-ups online, by card or at a post office | Online, delivered to an Irish address only |
| GoMo | 18 or over; credit check | Card only | Online only; the order needs an Eircode |
| Clear Mobile | 18 or over, living in Ireland, credit check | Card only | Online; physical SIM by post in 3 working days, no eSIM |
| Virgin Mobile | Credit check; 12-month contract | Direct debit only; a foreign euro account needs a paper form | 5 Virgin Media stores and Harvey Norman; courier |
| Sky Mobile | 18 or over, living in Ireland, credit or fraud check; 12-month contract | Direct debit or card | Online; SIM by An Post, or eSIM |
Can you pay an Irish phone bill from a foreign bank account?
From a euro account in the SEPA area, yes: the Central Bank of Ireland says Irish companies may not refuse a SEPA IBAN from another country, and the CCPC handles complaints about telecoms. In practice Vodafone sets up foreign accounts only in its stores and Virgin Media needs a paper form. Prepay plans are paid by card.
- GoMo, Clear Mobile, 48 and Lidl Connect take cards only, so no IBAN is needed. 48 says it accepts Revolut; the others do not say whether foreign or online-bank cards work.
- Three charges €4.57 a month on bill pay without direct debit, and eir €2 a month; eir also needs direct debit for the first three bills and says foreign banks take longer to set up.
- The SEPA rule is about euro accounts in the SEPA area, so it does not cover an account in India, Brazil or Ukraine; ask the network what it accepts.
- If a company refuses your SEPA IBAN, the Central Bank suggests pointing to Article 9 of the SEPA Regulation, then complaining in writing, then contacting the CCPC on 01 402 5555.
Can a mobile phone bill be proof of address in Ireland?
Sometimes. The citizenship guide counts a mobile phone bill as a supporting document, and AIB and Revolut accept one. Bank of Ireland, PTSB and the NDLS, which issues driving licences, do not. The PPS number list asks for a household utility bill and does not mention phone bills. The bill must show your name and address.
- Prepay SIMs have no bill. Three staff say only bill pay customers get a bill that can serve as proof of address, and 48 says its receipts cannot include your home address.
- Tesco Mobile’s and Virgin Media’s sample bills show the account holder’s name and address; Vodafone’s shows the name.
- For citizenship, a phone bill is worth 50 points, and the guide lists using only supporting documents, such as three phone bills, as a common mistake.
- AIB wants a bill sent to your home in the last six months, plus a second proof if it is your first bill. PTSB accepts a Department of Social Protection letter confirming your PPS number instead.
What should you do in your first month?
Start on prepay so you are not tied in, then compare plans once you know your address and coverage. Moving your number to a cheaper network is free and the new network does it for you. Lidl Connect only takes Irish numbers, so you need an Irish number first if you want to move it there.
Our plan finder lists every plan by its first-year cost, the networks guide shows which mast network each brand uses and its coverage map, and the number transfer guide covers what to do if a move fails. To keep your home number working too, see keeping a number active.
Frequently asked questions
Do you need a PPS number to get a SIM in Ireland?
None of the 12 networks we checked lists a PPS number as a requirement. Bill pay plans check your identity, address and credit instead, and the PPS office itself asks for a proof of address.
Can newcomers sign up to Lidl Connect?
Yes, if you are 18 or over and can use the Lidl Plus app: Lidl says anyone can sign up, and no identity check is needed at present. The plan is paid by card in the app, and the physical SIM is sold in Lidl stores.
Which Irish SIM can I use straight away at the airport?
Three, Vodafone and Lycamobile say their prepay SIMs are sold at Dublin Airport, and Lycamobile asks for a passport there. Vodafone and Three eSIMs can be bought online and activated without a store visit.
Does a 48 receipt work as proof of address?
No. 48 says its receipts show your registered account details but cannot include your home address, because it does not keep it. A bill pay plan whose bill shows your address is more useful for that.
Where these facts come from
Every fact on this page comes from one of these sources. We opened each one on the date shown.
- Know Your Customer guidance, draft for consultation (ComReg 24/24c), ComReg, 2024-04-03 (checked 2026-10-12)Official
- Is identity verification required during registration?, Lidl Ireland customer service (checked 2026-10-10)Official
- Lidl Connect, Lidl Ireland (checked 2026-10-11)Official
- How do I pay for Lidl Connect and what payment methods are available?, Lidl Ireland customer service (checked 2026-10-11)Official
- Are there any extra costs for a physical SIM?, Lidl Ireland customer service (checked 2026-10-10)Official
- Where can I get the physical SIM?, Lidl Ireland customer service (checked 2026-10-10)Official
- Do I have to install my eSIM immediately after purchase?, Lidl Ireland customer service (checked 2026-10-12)Official
- Help, 48 (checked 2026-10-12)Official
- All about plans and payments, 48 (community, staff article) (checked 2026-10-12)Official
- Getting started: order your free 48 SIM, 48 (community, staff article) (checked 2026-10-12)Official
- Plan receipts, 48 (community, staff post) (checked 2026-10-12)Official
- Terms and conditions (last updated 14 June 2023), Lycamobile Ireland, 2023-06-14 (checked 2026-10-11)Official
- SIM card Dublin, Lycamobile Ireland (checked 2026-10-12)Official
- eSIM, Lycamobile Ireland (checked 2026-10-12)Official
- Free SIM, Lycamobile Ireland (checked 2026-10-12)Official
- Irish SIM for visiting Ireland, Three Ireland (checked 2026-10-12)Official
- Joining Three on Bill Pay, Three Ireland (3Community, staff article) (checked 2026-10-12)Official
- The General Terms of Three Service, Three Ireland (checked 2026-10-10)Official
- Bill payment methods, Three Ireland (3Community, staff article) (checked 2026-10-12)Official
- Bill pay price guide, Three Ireland, 2026-06-01 (checked 2026-10-10)Official
- Can I get a copy of my prepay bill statement with my address?, Three Ireland (3Community, staff reply) (checked 2026-10-12)Official
- SIM card for tourists visiting Ireland, Vodafone Ireland (checked 2026-10-12)Official
- General terms (from 19 February 2026), Vodafone Ireland, 2026-02-19 (checked 2026-10-12)Official
- Bills and payments FAQs, Vodafone Ireland (checked 2026-10-12)Official
- Customer notifications (bill payments, paper bills), Vodafone Ireland (checked 2026-10-12)Official
- Terms and Conditions of the eir Mobile Service, eir (checked 2026-10-10)Official
- Price list part 14 (miscellaneous charges), eir (checked 2026-10-12)Official
- Payment options, eir (checked 2026-10-12)Official
- Stores, eir (checked 2026-10-12)Official
- Prepay terms and conditions, Tesco Mobile Ireland (checked 2026-10-12)Official
- Bill pay terms and conditions, Tesco Mobile Ireland, 2023-09-28 (checked 2026-10-12)Official
- Understand billing: your questions, Tesco Mobile Ireland (checked 2026-10-12)Official
- Understanding your bill, Tesco Mobile Ireland (checked 2026-10-12)Official
- Prepay plans, Tesco Mobile Ireland (checked 2026-10-11)Official
- General terms and conditions, An Post Mobile (checked 2026-10-10)Official
- €18 SIM plan, An Post Mobile (checked 2026-10-12)Official
- GoMo Mobile terms and conditions, GoMo, 2026-05-01 (checked 2026-10-12)Official
- Mobile: getting started, GoMo (checked 2026-10-12)Official
- eSIM, GoMo (checked 2026-10-12)Official
- General terms, Clear Mobile (checked 2026-10-11)Official
- Help: billing, Clear Mobile (checked 2026-10-12)Official
- Getting started, Clear Mobile (checked 2026-10-12)Official
- SIM only terms (2026), Virgin Media Ireland (checked 2026-10-11)Official
- SIM only, Virgin Media Ireland, 2026-04-02 (checked 2026-10-12)Official
- Paying your bill (new joiners), Virgin Media Ireland (checked 2026-10-12)Official
- Store locator, Virgin Media Ireland (checked 2026-10-12)Official
- Your Virgin Mobile bill made easy, Virgin Media Ireland (checked 2026-10-12)Official
- Your bill explained, Vodafone Ireland (checked 2026-10-12)Official
- Sky Mobile customer contracts (from July 2026), Sky Ireland, 2026-07-01 (checked 2026-10-11)Official
- Sky Mobile plans, Sky Ireland (checked 2026-10-12)Official
- eSIM on Sky Mobile (ROI), Sky Ireland (checked 2026-10-12)Official
- Regulation (EU) No 260/2012 (SEPA), Article 9, EUR-Lex, 2012-03-14 (checked 2026-10-12)Official
- What is IBAN discrimination and what can I do about it?, Central Bank of Ireland (checked 2026-10-12)Official
- Get a Personal Public Service (PPS) number, Department of Social Protection (checked 2026-10-12)Official
- Personal Public Service (PPS) number, Citizens Information (checked 2026-10-12)Official
- How to become an Irish citizen: guide, Immigration Service Delivery (checked 2026-10-12)Official
- Personal current account: identity requirements, AIB (checked 2026-10-12)
- Opening an account, Bank of Ireland (checked 2026-10-12)
- Required documents: current accounts, PTSB (checked 2026-10-12)
- Accepted proof of address documents (Ireland), Revolut (checked 2026-10-12)
- Applying in person, NDLS (checked 2026-10-12)Official
- Switch Mobile Provider, ComReg, 2025-05-29 (checked 2026-10-10)Official